Rune Rider Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I graduated YouTube University last weekend on Final Drive oil changes. What was interesting is I watched 30 different videos from 30 different people and only one had what I thought the proper way to do it. 29 videos drop the oil waited for it to drain and put the drain bolt back on and refilled it and off they went. I watched all these beause I always questioned oil contamination with all engine/transmission,rear oil changes. The 1 who I think had it right drained the oil, put the drain bolt back on, filled the drive up again then rotated the rear wheel/Gears 5-8 times drained it and repeated the process with another fill-up & 5-8 rotations of the wheel, drained it and filled it for a final time.

So, that's what I did. the second draining showed how contaminated the new oil would have been If I didn't do the second drain. The third drain was clear as could be making me feel really good I got all the old gear oil out. It's only 4.9 oz (if I remember properly) of gear oil.

I do admit I love putting crystal clear oil throughout my vehicles. I truly believe my vehicles thank me by running a long time.

Mitchell

· Registered
75 Posts
"Final drive has moly in it making it look dirty or cloudy, that moly is recommend by Honda to stay in the final drive until 24,000 miles. Moly good!

An oil change always leave behind some old oil, that is taken into account for recommended service intervals.
Rune engine oil/filter change leaves behind a quart each time or roughly 20% of the oil."

· Administrator
7,023 Posts