Rune Rider Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Administrator
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anybody have experience with the following:
I have to store my Rune for a few months due to a fallen tree into my garage. The storage unit I’m using does not have electricity and the Rune has a Scorpion security unit that will drain the battery within 3 days without a trickle charger so I had to pull the battery. So my question is; what are the long-term affects on the ECU without power for 3-4 months?

-Ollie

·
Registered
990 Posts
Does anybody have experience with the following:
I have to store my Rune for a few months due to a fallen tree into my garage. The storage unit I’m using does not have electricity and the Rune has a Scorpion security unit that will drain the battery within 3 days without a trickle charger so I had to pull the battery. So my question is; what are the long-term affects on the ECU without power for 3-4 months?

-Ollie
I have no first hand experience with the actual question at hand here Ollie, but my gut instinct and/or common sense is telling me the ECU will suffer ZERO consequence due to long term storage w/o a battery connected. It's internals would be permanent unless/until someone were to connect it to a computer with a programming device to change things internally. RAM vs ROM sort of stuff that is so far ago in my memory, I can't pull up the current correct acronym right now.

·
Registered
79 Posts
"So my question is; what are the long-term affects on the ECU without power for 3-4 months?"

NONE, your ecm/ecu can return to it's base line data points or factory set parameters.

I've had my battery out for up to 7 months for it's short winter nap. Al pulled his as well for the short Canadian winters he had in sunny Canada.